Heil Hetero: Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Phallocentric Heteronormativiy


I’m terribly sorry about the length of time between my blog posts. I have had scarce any measure of privacy for using the internet until yesterday when I got the internet to work on my laptop. Anyhow, a few days ago I definitely hit the very bottom of the culture shock curve. I got home from KLCC and my family was watching television, which is pretty standard. However, this particular television program was one of the most deeply offensive things I have seen in my life. Every fiber of my being was utterly repulsed by its content. It was an “investigative journalism” (think Dateline, 20/20, etc.) where homosexuals were tracked down with hidden cameras and then arrested for their “crime”. Not only did the program feature this, but it also included much cheerleading from “man on the street” interviews with people discussing how homosexuality is “damaging to society”, “immoral”, etc. To further compound my emotional and ethical situation, my host family was making off-the-cuff patently homophobic statements. 

That night I cried for the first time in a long time. I don’t know how to cope with this kind of culture; one where all of the media is a mouthpiece for the government (case in point, every TV station has several ads and dedicated programming for that “Satu Malaysia” BS), where the people are perfectly OK with the lack of freedom of speech and press (in fact, I could be arrested for sedition for posting this, but I don’t care!), and there is such ingrained hatred across the country towards certain groups of people. I think I am getting a little better now that I am a few days out from that experience. I keep trying to apply that AFS catchphrase “it’s not good or bad, just different” but I don’t see fascism as “different” I see this way of living as abjectly wrong. I guess that’s something I have to work on… 

So far, I feel like I am living in a more indirect capitalist version of 1984. No Joke.

 

-Tyler Smith

Published in: on August 21, 2009 at 8:34 AM  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cultureshock2010.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/heil-hetero-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-phallocentric-heteronormativiy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Tyler,
    Just wondering if you still remember what tv programme that you watched with your family that investigate and tracked down homosexuals in Malaysia is called? I’m doing a research about homosexuality in Malaysia. Thanks.

    Here’s my email: reezsaidin@yahoo.com.au

    • You gay fcuk.. The gov is looking for you. research my ass..

  2. Hi Tyler

    I liked your post a lot and I’m disappointed you haven’t written more in your blog. Life for people in the Queer community is indeed tough in Malaysia. Police raid clubs all the time and religious police can arrest arrest people for being homosexual.

  3. How to copy post from other blogs and make it unique and
    human readable ? To find out just type in google:

    anightund’s article tool


Leave a Reply

